Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

ruin and rising

 

Goodreads Blurb

The Darkling rules Ravka from his shadow throne.

Now the nation’s fate rests with a broken Sun Summoner, a disgraced tracker, and the shattered remnants of a once-great magical army.

Deep in an ancient network of tunnels and caverns, a weakened Alina must submit to the dubious protection of the Apparat and the zealots who worship her as a Saint. Yet her plans lie elsewhere, with the hunt for the elusive firebird and the hope that an outlaw prince still survives.

Alina will have to forge new alliances and put aside old rivalries as she and Mal race to find the last of Morozova’s amplifiers. But as she begins to unravel the Darkling’s secrets, she reveals a past that will forever alter her understanding of the bond they share and the power she wields. The firebird is the one thing that stands between Ravka and destruction—and claiming it could cost Alina the very future she’s fighting for.

 

Review

I finally finished this one! I started it months ago and had to set it down. Not because I wasn’t enjoying it, I just needed to step away from The Grishaverse for awhile. I started off reading Six of Crows and then went back and read Shadow and Bone and then Siege and Storm. From there I tried finishing the series but I needed a brain break from it.

But I picked it up and wanted to get it read before school started and before the baby got here. And I loved it! I liked how it didn’t have a completely tragic ending. It seemed like a darker series that was heading that way for most of it but I was pleasantly surprised! I’m a sucker for a happy ending.

One thing that I can’t decide if I’m on-board about is who Alina ended up with. I love Mal, don’t get me wrong. I love how they grew up together and always looked out for each other but I feel like they both neglected each other so much. He was always off flirting and messing around with other girls before she get pretty and famous, and she could never make up her mind when it came to all of the men in her life. It just seemed like they both settled in the end.

In my opinion, I was hoping she would end up with Strumhond. I enjoyed his character more than Mal’s and it seemed like they just meshed well. They could have had time to fall head over heels for each other. But I guess in the end, it was best that Alina disappear after what happened on The Fold. Sigh. I just wish he would have fought a little harder for her. It was like each male in her life had something the other two didn’t.

Strumhond had charisma and charm and respect for Alina but was a little cocky.

The Darkling was a mysterious, torutred type who was on the same level as her. (Power wise) And who she seemed the most physically attracted too. But he was evil and awful. Unfortunate.

And then there’s Mal who she had a history with and who was her best friend but who neglected her and denied her until she became someone with power and fame.

It’s like there was no perfect person for her to end up with. But since she lost her power she became who Mal wanted her to be again. I just feel really conflicted about it.

As for the backstory with Morozova and The Darkling. I kind of saw that coming. I knew they would end up being related in some way. It was inevitable. I think that story about Morozova was supposed to be loosely related to Rasputin’s death and the whole myth of Anastasia Romanov surviving the family massacre that happened in Russia. His death seemed similar and there was a girl who miraculously survived… Lot’s of parallels. And Rasputin was thought to be more than just an adviser, he had a strange hold over the czar.

I liked the parallels, it made it interesting. And Ravka seems so Russian anyway. The landscape, the names, the way of life, the politics in the story.

I gave this book 4.5/5 stars because I enjoyed it so much. I am trying to finish up Crooked Kingdom right now and will hopefully have a review up in the next week! I can’t wait till Leigh Bardugo’s The Language of Thorns novel and her Wonder Woman book come out!

 

 

Leave a Reply

