Hunting Prince Dracula by Kerri Maniscalco

HPD

 

Goodreads Blurb

In this hotly anticipated sequel to the haunting #1 bestseller Stalking Jack the Ripper, bizarre murders are discovered in the castle of Prince Vlad the Impaler, otherwise known as Dracula. Could it be a copycat killer…or has the depraved prince been brought back to life?

Following the grief and horror of her discovery of Jack the Ripper’s true identity, Audrey Rose Wadsworth has no choice but to flee London and its memories. Together with the arrogant yet charming Thomas Cresswell, she journeys to the dark heart of Romania, home to one of Europe’s best schools of forensic medicine…and to another notorious killer, Vlad the Impaler, whose thirst for blood became legend.

But her life’s dream is soon tainted by blood-soaked discoveries in the halls of the school’s forbidding castle, and Audrey Rose is compelled to investigate the strangely familiar murders. What she finds brings all her terrifying fears to life once again

 

Review

This was one of the rare incidences that the sequel was better than the first book. Don’t get me wrong, I loved Stalking Jack the Ripper, but I feel like the story in Hunting Prince Dracula was much more entertaining. Maybe because I enjoyed the setting better. And I really do think Maniscalco’s writing became stronger with the second book. The plot seemed more elaborate and surprised me more in the end than the first book.

I was lucky enough to snag an ARC from the Texas Library Association convention this year. Well… my mom snagged it for me. She’s the librarian at the middle school where I teach. Hunting Prince Dracula will officially come out in September this year, so only one more month! September will be a good month since it comes out then and so does Warcross by Marie Lu. (Which was also spectacular, as most Marie Lu novels are.)

I was hooked on Hunting Prince Dracula throughout the entire novel. Knowing it was going to take place in Vlad the Impaler’s castle in Romania made it intriguing to me. The castle/school seemed creepy and so did many of the students. I kept waiting to see if this book was going to turn out having fantasy elements in it. Which in a way it did but it was still mostly historical fiction. Most of the fantasy aspects came from hearing about all of the myths and legends that surround Romania with vampires and werewolves. I do wish that my ARC had a completed glossary of Romanian translations in the back. It would have been helpful while reading. I guess I’ll have to go buy a copy when it comes out next month. Some of the language was difficult to keep up with.

The ending of this one took me completely by surprise! The whole time you’re wondering is it a real person who lives near the castle committing these copy cat acts to Dracula’s or is it Dracula himself come back to haunt his bloodline? You even see the main character Audrey Rose doubt her thoughts a few times. She always argues scientifically but there’s so many parallels in this spooky place that she can’t help but wonder.

Of course I love the main characers, Audrey Rose and Thomas Cresswell. They’re both witty and Cresswell’s lack of shame in flirting is hilarious. But then you meet new characters like his sister Daciana and the maid Ileana and you love them too! Daciana has about as much shame as her brother and never apologizes for what she believes in. I love her! And Ileana just seems like she knows a little more than she lets on the entire book but she’s also a very good friend to Audrey Rose. You don’t know what to make of her character until the end of the book.

I don’t want to post too many spoilers for this book since it’s not even out yet but I do want to talk about the next novel. And yes, there will definitely be a next one. When the story ends Audrey Rose and Thomas find out they will still be abroad this next year with her uncle as apprentices. And they will be traveling to… AMERICA! You kind of expect that to happen because Audrey Rose drops a few foreshadowing comments here and there about how she’s always wanted to travel there. I think she says New York specifically if I remember correctly. I’m hoping we cross paths with her cousin Liza in the next book since they talk about her traveling abroad the next year as a coming of age thing like Daciana does in this book.

I’ve heard a lot about this type of travel year lately that young adults took in the 19th century. I know there’s a new YA novel out called The Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue that it just specifically about a young mans travel year. I wish it was still feasible to do things like that now. Maybe it is… I just don’t know how I’d feel about my daughter traveling on her own with a friend to different countries for a year. Sounds expensive and kind of dangerous. I think for me to be okay with that it would need to be with a study abroad program. But the idea of it sounds marvelous!

Anyway, this book definitely got 5/5 stars from me. I highly recommend it. It is dark like the other book but it’s wonderful! Rich with Romanian folklore and all things Dracula. I cannot wait until the next one debuts. I’m already having withdrawals.

Leave a Reply

